No Matter How You Vote, I Still Love You

By Jonathan McGeachen

If you vote for the conman-with-no-plan, I still love you.

If you vote for the female-with-the-email, I still love you.

If you vote third party in a swing state when you might otherwise have voted for a more viable candidate, and that more viable candidate winds up losing, whichever side loses is going to blame you, but they shouldn’t, because it’s actually their fault. They should have nominated a better person. I still love you.

If you vote third party in a solid red or blue state, people would be very unreasonable to blame you for their loss, because your vote didn’t make a difference, but they probably will blame you anyway, because these are unreasonable times. I still love you.

If you happen to live in Utah and you vote for McMullin and Hillary and Trump both fall below 270 electoral votes and under the 12th Amendment the House somehow elects McMullin as a “compromise” with almost zero popular mandate, I still love you.

If you happen to live in Utah and you vote for McMullin and Trump wins a 12th Amendment House vote anyway, I still love you.

If Johnson somehow wins a state and wins the same way and you voted for him, or if Trump wins anyway as mentioned above, I still love you.

If the Democrats win the House because of Trump’s toxic down-ticket effect and said 12th Amendment vote is delayed or fails to reach a majority before the incoming Democrats arrive, who then proceed to elect Hillary, I still love you.

If the system deadlocks for a long time and Pence or Kaine becomes president under the 20th Amendment, I still love you.

I’ll still love you if you try to start an insurrection, but please, please don’t. Romans 13:1-2 doesn’t have a fraud exception, and was written by someone who suffered real persecution.

2 thoughts on “No Matter How You Vote, I Still Love You

Leave a Reply

